Five Minute Friday – When

FMF-When--600x600

I can’t even count the number of times I’ve been asked “so, when are you going home?”

Where is home?

Is home the place where I grew up. Where I drive on the opposite side of the road and where I don’t have to think about which language is coming out of my mouth?

IMGP8185Is home the place where tons of little mouths reach to give me a kiss and a greeting. The place where I climb into overcrowded mini buses and onto the back of motorcycle taxis without question?

IMG_0900When I think about when, I think about now. I think about how I am here to celebrate first steps and first teeth. New life, and new families. Reunification and reintegration.

When I walk out of my little house each day, I don’t think about “when” I am going home. I think I’m coming to realize I’m already there.IMG_0705

**In case you don’t know what Five Minute Friday is, it’s a link up with bloggers all over the world where we write for 5 minutes on word prompt. No edits, no extra time.

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – When

  1. jlkennedy99

    Beautiful Kelly! When I think about when I think about now… LOVE this! Such contentment in your journey. Continue on my #fmfparty friend.

    Blessings

  2. ambercadenas

    So much struck my heart here, Kelly. This idea of “when” and “now” for you… profound and beautiful. Followed up by these words: “When I walk out of my little house each day, I don’t think about “when” I am going home. I think I’m coming to realize I’m already there.” I don’t know what else to say to this beauty, but thank you. I’m grateful I came here.

    1. Wow. This comment really touched my heart. I’ve been struggling to do Five Minute Fridays and almost didn’t write this one, but now I’m happy that I did. Thank you so much

Leave a Reply

