Five Minute Friday – Prepare

I’m late to the game for Five Minute Friday but I wanted to post anyway. I was away for the week visiting my boyfriends family, more about that later.

For now, if you don’t know what Five Minute Friday is head over here.

FMF-Prepare-12.12.2014-300x300I remember back when I was getting ready to move to Tanzania. How I was preparing. How I was trying to think about becoming a mother to the orphaned and abandoned. How I wrote about how I was ready to become a mom.

But was I really prepared? 10850288_967623979918862_1181348280141950577_n

I received a text yesterday that one of our sweet little girls passed away. She was just 5 months old. She had so much of her life ahead of her. Unfortunately pneumonia and a severe lung infection crept in and she declined so fast, even the ICU at the private hospital in town wasn’t enough. There was not a single thing that could have been done to change the circumstances, but she’s gone nonetheless. She has a twin brother who will grow up not knowing his sister. Our hearts are broken.IMG_5148

How do you prepare knowing lives are so fragile. Especially the lives of these sweet little infants, fighting to survive in circumstances no baby should see. I don’t know how to be prepared when I meet an incredibly sweet 18 month old with an intentionally broken arm and leg. I don’t know how to be prepared when I am handed a baby who, a day before, was found on the side of the road covered in dirt. I don’t know how to be prepared when I see father’s come to visit their child once a month because they have to work to provide for their family and their wife has died. IMG_8006

I guess it all comes down to He is the great Comforter. He is the One who makes us prepared, or at least gives us the grace to make it though.

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Prepare

  1. The plight of orphaned and abandoned children, especially in Africa breaks my heart. I, too, volunteer at a babies home and I remember at the beginning of my time there I was so emotional because I couldn’t understand how people could abandon such beautiful, helpless babies. I don’t know the stories of the babies where I volunteer, but I don’t think I want to know. :/

    1. Yeah, I remember the beginning too… and it’s like, the longer I stay I don’t get less emotional, it’s just about different things now. Because of my level of involvement, I know every child’s story, and every detail that is too heartbreaking (and intrusive) to share… It’s hard… some days are absolutely brutal. But I know they are receiving top care now, and that hopefully one day they will get to move to their forever homes.

  2. smfarris

    That’s so hard! My heart breaks just reading that. You are right that Christ is our comforter! He has to be when situations that you really can’t ever prepare for arise!

Leave a Reply

