Five Minute Friday – Still

FMF-Still-600x600

Peace, be still.

Peace, be still.

Peace, be still, and know that I am God.

These words play over and over and over in my head in times of chaos. I remember the first time I heard the song “Peace Be Still” by Rush of Fools… it was winter in Minnesota. It was cold and the roads were a mess. I was trying to get somewhere new, something I always hate, and I was having trouble with my GPS and I was overwhelmed and feeling hopeless. The radio was set to the cliche local Christian station and that song started playing. Instantly a wave of peace came over me and I knew those words were meant for me.IMG950291

Time and time again in the chaos of living a life overseas I hear Him whisper, “Peace, be still”.

In the overcrowded, swerving mini buses, peace be still.

In the screaming chaos of 34 little orphaned or abandoned babies, peace be still.

In the quite halls of the local hospital, going to pick up another baby left all alone, peace be still.DSCN1577

In the trips to the crazy, smelly, loud local market just to get a few grocery items, peace be still.

In it all, in the midst of the chaos, in the midst of the quietness, He whispers, “Peace, be still.”

**as I am posting you probably realized I got a new computer! I am so blessed. Thank you to everyone who helped.

One thought on “Five Minute Friday – Still

  1. Monica

    Hi Kelly,

    What a great phrase: Peace, be still. Thankyou for these blessed 5 minutes. Praying that God would continue to bless you and give you his peace.

Leave a Reply

