Two Burner Kitchen : Lentil-Veggie Coconut curry

A big part of moving to Tanzania has been spending a lot of time googling “how to make ‘x’  from scratch. There is no such thing as instant or pre-made here. Well there is a few things you can find but be prepared to shell out 4 or 5 times the price in the States. Not doable on my budget.

Then in the beginning of October I moved to much more modest housing, which cut my expenses down drastically. I don’t own a refrigerator, a freezer, or a traditional stove/oven. My “kitchen” now consists of two gas burners. So welcome to the first recipe post from the “two burner kitchen”.

Lentil- Veggie coconut curry

IngredientsIMG_9629

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin powder
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons curry powder
  • salt to taste
  • a pinch of dried red chili flakes
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cup dry yellow lentils
  • 3 large carrots, cut into strips
  • 1/2 head cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1/2 head broccoli, cut into florets
  • 3 tomatoes, diced
  • ½ cup coconut milk (or 1/2 cup water mixed with coconut milk powder)

IMG_9632INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat pot over medium heat with water, oil, garlic powder, ginger powder, cumin powder, curry powder, red chili flakes, carrots and lentils, bring to a boil and then reduce slightly for 20-40 minutes (until lentils are tender) Add salt to taste.
  2. In a separate pot, boil the cauliflower and broccoli until tender (around 5 minutes) and then drain
  3. Add tomatoes and the cauliflower and broccoli to the lentil pot. Let boil together 3-5 minutes.
  4.   Serve over rice**recipe greatly adapted from here based on what I had/could getIMG_9637

Just as another little peek into life in Tanzania, this is where I wash dishes.

IMG_9641Blue is the soapy/wash bucket. Brown is the rinse bucket. Then I dry them and the hang out on that bench. The big green bucket is where I keep my water. The red bucket with the tap is my water filter.

Welcome to my kitchen!

5 thoughts on “Two Burner Kitchen : Lentil-Veggie Coconut curry

  1. You have such an awesome perspective to write from! My husband and I both feel lead to plant churches overseas (unfortunately Gods still got us in the prep phase) but I will pin this and keep in mind for one day when we are! Thank you!

  2. Jenna @ A Savory Feast

    I loved this peek into your kitchen! It would be so hard for me to try to cook with only two burners and no place to get the ingredients I usually use. I bet you are learning a lot of cool cooking tricks! This was a great idea for a post, and I can’t wait to see more.

  3. Pingback: Merry Christmas! | Send Kelly

Leave a Reply

